Limited Submission Grant Opportunity: ORAU Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards

Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 11:30am

Limited Submission Competition: ORAU Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards

Appalachian State University is an associate member of Oak Ridge Associated Universities, which means that two junior faculty members are eligible to apply for the 2018 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards. The Powe awards are intended to enrich the research and professional growth of young faculty in these five technical areas

• Engineering and applied science
• Life sciences
• Mathematics/computer sciences
• Physical sciences
• Policy, management or education

The award amount provided by ORAU is $5,000. The applicant’s institution is required to match the award with at least an additional $5,000. This is a one-year grant (June 1 to May 31). This award can include funds for faculty summer salary, graduate student salary, travel, equipment, or other assistance relevant to the faculty member’s research.

Full-time assistant professors are eligible if (1) their first tenure-track appointment was at Appalachian State, and (2) that appointment began no more than two years before ORAU's deadline for 2016-17 Powe Award applications.

Internal competition and deadline
Each ORAU member institution may submit only two applications. Due to this submission limitation, an internal competition will be held to select Appalachian State’s two applicants. Prospective applicants should visit the competition page and submit their applications by 12 p.m. on November 6, 2018

Competition Calendar

•12 p.m., November 6, 2017: applications due via InfoReady Review
•12 p.m., November 13, 2017: internal review completed by faculty reviewers
•5 p.m., November 14, 2017: all applicants notified of status
•5 p.m., November 16, 2017: selected applicants confirm intent to apply
•5 p.m., December 22, 2017: complete proposals and all supporting materials due to Sponsored Programs via AGrants
•12 p.m., January 8, 2018: complete proposals due to ORAU

Recent recipients of this grant at Appalachian: Dr. Jason Xiong [Computer Information Systems & Supply Chain Management], Dr. Derek Martin [Geography & Planning, 2016], Dr. Brooke Hester [Physics & Astronomy, 2014]

For more information
Contact Katie Howard at or x8123

Subscribe to Office of Research News

If you would like to receive an email notification when Office of Research news is updated, you can subscribe using Feedburner.


Office of Research
John E. Thomas Building
287 Rivers Street
Room 382
PO Box 32174
Boone, NC 28608-2174
Ph: (828) 262-7459
Fax: (828) 262-2641
Staff Contacts
Skype us at: appstate.grants1
Follow us on Twitter: @ckhowson

QEP Global Learning

Upcoming Events & Workshops